India will travel to Australia

India Tour of Australia 2018-19: Victory of the Fittest


After a successful home series against West Indies, India will travel to Australia for a series comprising of 3 T20Is, 4 Tests and 3 ODIs.India will travel to Australia

Here is the full schedule of India’s tour of Australia :-

November 21: Australia v India, The Gabba, 1st T20I

November 23: Australia v India, MCG, 2nd T20I

November 25: Australia v India, SCG, 3rd T20I

December 6-10: Australia v India, Adelaide Oval, 1st Test

December 14-18: Australia v India, Perth Stadium, 2nd Test

December 26-30: Australia v India, MCG, 3rd TestIndia will travel to Australia

January 3-7: Australia v India, SCG, 4th Test

January 12: Australia v India, SCG, 1st ODI

January 15: Australia v India, Adelaide Oval, 2nd ODI

January 18: Australia v India, MCG, 3rd ODI

The first ODI between India and Australia will be played next year on January 12, 2019.

India have announced the squads for the 3 T20Is and 4 Tests.  Virat Kohli will lead as captain in both.

Hardik Pandya, who has been out due to injury has been rested, but his brother, Krunal, who impressed in the T20I series against Windies, finds a place in the side.India will travel to Australia

Former India captain M S Dhoni has also not been included in the T20I squad. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik have been selected as the two wicket keeping options. M S Dhoni has retired long ago, but his seniors Parthiv Patel, D Kartik still find a place in the squads. Needless to mention, MS Dhoni is still the crowd favorite.

India is regarded as a Cricket super power in the world. It has named only 26 players for the Test and T20I duties, with each one of them capable enough to be included in the final eleven. Several others were also considered but could not join the tour to Australia. Suresh Raina’s name is missing. This is an indication of the level of competition among the young players trying to win the India cap. It also shows the available bench strength at its disposal at any given time. The Team management is thus able to distribute the work load evenly between the players and to avoid any undue fatigue. Other teams in the world can only dream of such a luxury. 

Thus, Team India’s present story is that of several years of meticulous admin planning and the individual’s talent, training and hard work. Despite several injuries, several setbacks, only the fittest have survived.

India  squads for the 3 T20Is and 4 Tests:-

Test T20I
1 Virat Kohli(c) Y Y
2 Rohit Sharma Y Y
3 Rishabh Pant Y Y
4 Kuldeep Yadav Y Y
5 Lokesh Rahul Y Y
6 Umesh Yadav Y Y
7 Jasprit Bumrah Y Y
8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Y Y
9 Murali Vijay Y
10 Prithvi Shaw Y
11 Cheteshwar Pujara Y
12 Ajinkya Rahane Y
13 Hanuma Vihari Y
14 Parthiv Patel Y
15 Ravichandran Ashwin Y
16 Ravindra Jadeja Y
17 Mohammed Shami Y
18 Ishant Sharma Y
19 Shikhar Dhawan Y
20 Shreyas Iyer Y
21 Manish Pandey Y
22 Dinesh Karthik Y
23 Yuzvendra Chahal Y
24 Washington Sundar Y
25 K Khaleel Ahmed Y
26 Krunal Pandya Y

Australia will be without David Warner and Steve Smith, who are currently serving a one-year ban for their roles in the ball tampering incident earlier this year.

Analysts predict an easy outing for Team India. They begin as favorites. The basis being-

India – Fresh and confident after comprehensively beating the touring West Indies at home. (See: India V WI)

Australia – Without key pillars, Smith and Warner. Its admin is struggling with internal issues, the scars which the duo gave still remain. Recently lost ODI series 2-1 to South Africa at home. (See: Aus v SA) High on uncertainty and very low on confidence.

Related Posts

Average Rating
0 out of 5 stars. 0 votes.
My Rating: