High five: Will high voltage political campaigns bear fruit on 11 December? – High five


High five

High five

On Tuesday, the results of assembly elections in, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh will be announced. We have picked out, state profiles, voter turnout, exciting moments of the high-voltage campaigns and other relevant insights.



Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh

Total Seats: 230

Voter Turnout: 75.05%

Past Results (2013): BJP: 165; Congress: 58; Others: 7

-Congress’ soft-Hindutva pitch largely neutralised BJP’s attempts to polarise voters in its favour.

-Unlike in the past, Congress leaders, including Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia, put up a united front this time.

-BJP’s campaigns revolved around Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and his welfare schemes.





Total Seats: 119

Voter Turnout: 70%

Past Results (2013): TRS: 63; Congress: 21; NDA (TDP +BJP): 15; Others: 20

-The election is largely Chief Minister KCR versus all. The opposition parties — Congress, TDS, CPI and TJS — have formed a pre-poll alliance named Prajakutami (people’s alliance)

-BJP, which is not a key player in the state, mainly wants to expand its footprint, keeping in mind the big battle of 2019

-TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu’s overenthusiasm in this election is to create an anti-BJP front for the forthcoming Lok Sabha poll





Total Seats: 200

Voter Turnout: 74%

Past Results (2013): BJP: 163; Congress: 21; Others: 16

-CM Vasundhara Raje and the BJP central leadership were not on the same page initially, but the RSS came to Raje’s rescue as the campaign progressed.

-BJP president Amit Shah gave all his energy in the last leg of campaign in Rajasthan; PM Modi held 13 rallies, three more than what was planned initially.

-Congress strategy was based on caste equations and projecting two leaders as potential CM candidate.





Total Seats: 90

Voter Turnout: 76.6%

Past Results (2013): BJP: 49; Congress: 39; Others: 2

-The only state in this round of assembly elections where polling was held in two phases mainly due to the Naxal presence in Bastar area.

-Raman Singh, the longest-serving chief minister from BJP, hopes that anti-incumbency votes will split due to the emergence of the Ajit Jogi-Mayawati combine and would help his party win for the fourth time in a row.

-Congress, which secured 0.75% votes less than BJP in 2013, is expecting to cross the halfway mark this time.





Total Seats: 40

Voter Turnout: 80.5%

Past Results (2013): Congress 34; MNF: 5; BJP: 0; Others: 1

-The only state in the Northeast being ruled by the Congress now.

-BJP fought the poll on its own, but its main aim is to somehow dislodge the Congress and be a minor partner in an MNF-led coalition government.

-Congress witnessed unprecedented factionalism before the poll, leading to two ministers and the assembly Speaker deserting the party at the last minute.



Related Posts

Average Rating
0 out of 5 stars. 0 votes.
My Rating: