Cricket: Greerton and Cadets to contest Baywide Cup final


The two unbeaten teams in the 2018 Baywide Cup are all set for the big dance this weekend.

Element IMF Cadets and top qualifier Eves Realty Greerton will be well aware that their unbeaten seasons so far mean nothing if they cannot get across the line in the Baywide Cup final at Pemberton Park tomorrow.

Also at stake is a place in the Northern Districts Club Championships next year.

Cadets captain Jono Boult said: “We are going into the clash with Greerton as underdogs, as they have had the wood on us in the last couple of games. We are expecting a hard fought encounter with no quarter given or shown by either side.

“While we will be missing our first class players, our greatest strength is the enthusiasm of our very young side. The key to winning is likely to be Sean Davey and myself who are battle hardened to finals cricket.”

Greerton skipper Shane Wineti said he expected “a very competitive contest”.

“Cadets have a good mix of veterans and youth which makes them a dangerous side. Our strength lies in our batting with quality players throughout the XI. With the likes of Nick Hendrie, Brett Hampton and Pip Thickpenny, we believe we can put the Cadets bowling attack under pressure.

“ND all-rounder Brett Hampton is obviously a match-winner. Also our two new season recruits, Nick Hendrie and Henry Collier, have been outstanding contributors to our premier team.”

Greerton batsman Nick Hendrie leads the Baywide Cup batting stakes with 219 runs and a best of 73, while Cadets all-rounder Sean Davey has hit 196 runs with a highest score of 91.

Cadets youngster Jacob Logan, who still attends Tauranga Boys’ College, has been in sterling form taking 10 wickets with his best performance being 4-31.

New Greerton recruit Henry Collier has made his mark with 10 wickets and best figures of 4-9.

Baywide Cup Draw

Baywide Cup Final: Greerton v Cadets at Pemberton Park
Third Place: New World Te Puke v Carrus Mount Maunganui at Blake Park

Points (final)
Greerton 38, Cadets 34, Te Puke 29, Mount Maunganui 16, Central Indians 15, Tauranga Boys’ College 15, Lake Taupō 4.

Baywide Cup Champions

2017/18: Otumoetai Cadets, 2016/17: Mount Maunganui, 2015/16: Greerton, 2014/15: Greerton, 2013/14: Mount Maunganui, 2012/13: Mount Maunganui, 2011/12: Otumoetai Cadets, 2010/11: Mount Maunganui, 2009/10: Mount Maunganui, 2008/09: Mount Maunganui, 2007/08: Otumoetai Cadets.

– Supplied content

Related Posts

Average Rating
0 out of 5 stars. 0 votes.
My Rating: